DIY| Marley Braids

Hey everyone!! I have finally done  my marley braids and the results are shown below. This is the first time I have ever done my braids myself so it took me quite a long time to do (approximately 12 hours). It took me a while to figure out how to attach the extension securely (I’m a perfectionist) but once I figured it out it didn’t take me long to learn how to twist the hair.  I used 5 packs of “Soft ‘N’ Silky Afro Natural Synthetic Afro Twist Braid” hair.  Each pack of hair cost £2.99 and they can easily be purchased from a local hair shop.

The only down side to this hair is that it becomes messy very easily. I have had these braids for almost a week now and they look like I have had them for at least 3 weeks. My messy braids are probably because they are quite large. I will need to clean them up every so often to keep them looking neat and tidy. Apart from that, I see no downside to this hairstyle.

The extensions are a mix of colour 1B and 33 and I sealed the ends using hot water. This is a good protective hairstyle to do when you don’t feel like dealing with your natural hair. I am going to do some research and find hair that doesn’t frizz as much as this hair extension.  I know next time I do this hairstyle it will take less time. Practice makes perfect!

30-08-14 063

Thanks for reading!

~S. 

2 thoughts on “DIY| Marley Braids

Leave a comment